Tomorrow is the Feast of Our Lady of Lourdes/ World Day of the Sick.

It might be said that focus would again be made on the medical model on disability, on a person’s physical, sensory and mental impairment rather than on a person’s potential, talent and skills. But then again, each and everyone of us has a wound that needs healing.

Of course, we could point out that the Catholic Church sad to say, still view “disabled people” as different, and “special” and in need of cures and charity. To their credit, however, we should also recognize that the Church through its charitable institutions has also done so much good for the world.

I would like to believe that maski na magkaiba ang ating terminolohiya na ginagamit (development NGO work vis-a-vis the Catholic church), our goal – betterment in the lives of the marginalized sectors – is one and the same.

I might have my differences with the Servants of Charity, based on perspective. But then again, I would be a total ingrate kung sasabihin kong wala silang naitulong sa akin o wala akong natutunan sa kanila. I don’t regret that I once aspired to become a Religious Brother. The Servants contributed to who I am today.

I have decided however to go beyond charity and to work for social justice and human rights for all. No more No turning back for me.